国内DPU芯片领军企业 益思芯科技完成Pre-A轮融资

近日,国内DPU芯片领军企业益思芯科技宣布完成Pre-A轮融资。本轮融资由栎芽资本Oakseed Ventures联想创投联合领投,励石创投鼎新资本东方富海、一旗力合跟投,天使轮追加投资。本轮融资将进一步推动益思芯科技在智能网卡、DPU芯片领域的布局,满足AI、5G等新兴领域对于数据存储与网络交换的更高要求。

益思芯科技为AI和5G时代的数据中心提供全方面的芯片解决方案,包括下一代智能网卡中所需要的DPU芯片、计算存储(Computational SSD)及高端网络芯片。

“我的目标是打造中国的英伟达和博通,成为拥有全球影响力的半导体公司。以创办中国的Pensando和Fungible为切入点,逐步实现企业的战略发展目标。”创始人黄益人先生说。

DPU是Data Processing Unit的缩写,目前在美国已经被视为下一代数据中心的核心。在美国,由思科系统(Cisco Systems)四位资深工程师创办,前任总裁John Chambers担任董事长的Pensando、Juniper Networks CTO兼联合创始人创办的Fungible英伟达在竞争这个市场。而国内还没有供应商,不论是企业或互联网公司绝大部分依赖进口。

益思芯科技的创办人黄益人先生是美国CNEX Labs(曾获美国戴尔Dell、思科Cisco Systems、微软、Seagate、三星、Micron等机构的战略投资)的联合创始人和CTO;拥有近三十年芯片设计经验,毕业于上海交通大学,后留学美国密歇根理工大学,曾在思科系统(Cisco Systems)、Sandforce和华为负责交换机芯片、固态硬盘控制器、智能网卡的架构与设计;拥有27项美国专利发明,其中包括NVMe over Ethernet、Interlaken等协议。黄益人先生设计的芯片全球总销量累计超过2亿颗,所率领的项目中芯片均为一次流片成功。

互联网和企业数据中心,在面临一个巨大变革。在AI和5G的时代里,人工智能、万物互联和摩尔定律的尾声推动异构计算兴起的趋势,加上虚拟化和安全的需求,迫使数据中心必须从以CPU为核心的架构,转为以DPU为核心的组合式离散基础架构CDI(Composable Disaggregated Infrastructure) 。在新的架构里,DPU扮演的角色是减少CPU在网络交换、数据存储、数据安全、虚拟化等方面所耗的算力,并且实现更灵活、更安全的数据中心。益思芯科技将依托其若干年的技术沉淀,打造世界级的领先产品,成为整个产业的发展的中流砥柱。

栎芽资本(Oakseed Ventures)黄志伟说:“黄益人先生是国内罕见有近三十年数字芯片经验的专家。不论在数据中心网络领域,还是存储领域,放眼全球,黄益人先生是绝对的权威。”黄志伟本科及硕士均毕业于麻省理工电子计算机系,导师师是全球超低功耗数字芯片专家和现任麻省理工工程院院长Anantha Chandrakasan,曾担任麻省理工《超低功耗数字芯片设计》博士班的助教,随后在思科系统担任投资执行总监。黄志伟专注企业IT与科技的早期投资,近一半的投资案例在三到五年内都取得7至42倍的增值, 72至118%的内部收益率(IRR)。

“设计企业数据的芯片不是轻而易举的事情,没有十年、二十年的经验是没有办法完成的。芯片不是软件,不能迭代,如果流片后发现错误,在时间和资金上会造成很大的损失。网络和存储芯片极其复杂,若设计不好很容易造成死结。目前国家在支持国产半导体产业,但我们看到不少没有足够经验的团队,募集很多的钱,这样风险是很高的。黄益人先生过去三十年中屡获成功的产品开发和创业经验,扫除了众多投资人对风险的顾虑。我们有信心黄益人先生带领的团队不仅仅能设计出可靠的芯片,而且是在技术上全球领先的。”黄志伟补充说。

联想集团高级副总裁、联想创投集团总裁贺志强表示:伴随AI、5G、云计算等技术的发展,数据增长推动着全球算力需求的增长,催生出新计算生态发展机遇,DPU规模部署逐渐成为数据中心演进方向;益思芯科技DPU智能网卡解决方案,加快了企业在安全、网络、存储、AI、HPC等业务数据的处理效率,并有效降低成本。创始人黄益人先生是半导体芯片的行业专家,也是DPU智能网卡行业带头人,团队核心人员拥有20年以上相关科研经验。我们期待在以DPU为基础的新计算变革中,益思芯科技将带来更多新技术、新应用和新方向的突破。与此同时,联想在高性能计算领域已深耕超20年,拥有完善的产品布局与丰富的客户服务经验,未来将与益思芯科技携手在技术与产品方面紧密合作,为教育科研、智能制造、生命科学、气象海洋、石油勘探等多个领域提供全面的高性能计算解决方案,赋能行业智能化转型,共同推进新基建建设。

益思芯科技董事长兼CEO 黄益人先生最后说:“感谢各界给予益思芯科技的大力支持,我们不负期望要把公司打造成中国企业级芯片的全球引领者。未来几个月,我们将推出全球领先产品交付给国内客户。我希望有更多国内志同道合的,目标是打造中国英伟达和博通的企业、投资人与我们并肩同行。”

blank

blank关于栎芽资本

栎芽资本Oakseed Ventures是国内少有只专注于企业科技的早期基金,投资团队是国内少见有近十年投资企业服务的技术与投资专家。栎芽资本投资领域包括:从上层的企业服务SaaS、科技金融、AI、大数据、云,到底层的基础软硬件与芯片。创始合伙人黄志伟本科及硕士均毕业于麻省理工电子计算机系,持有哈佛商学院MBA,并且曾负责思科系统在中国的早期投资。团队的成功案例包括:KyligenceZilliz商涌科技偶数科技速石科技,近半数的投资案例在投资后的3-5年取得72-118% IRR,并且少于10%的案例需要清算。栎芽资本的投资信念是:细心地寻找和投资想为企业科技作出独特贡献的创业者,并通过团队在企业IT、运营商与互联网公司的资源加速公司的发展。

滚动到顶部

Resnics Technology, leader in DPU chipsets, completes Pre-A financing

Recently, Resnics Technology, a leading Chinese DPU chipset company, announced the completion of Pre-A financing. This round of financing was co-led by Oakseed Ventures and Lenovo Capital, with Grit Ventures, Dingxin Capital, Oriental Fortune Capital, FAW Lihe VC and angel investors participating. It will further accelerate Resnics  Technology’s leading position in the area of smart network interface cards and DPU chips, to meet the ever increasing demands of AI and 5G on data storage and networking.

Resnics Technology will provide a full range of chips for data centers in the AI ​​and 5G era, including DPU chips for next generation smart network interface cards (SmartNICs), computational SSD and high-end network switching chips.

“My goal is to build China’s NVIDIA and Broadcom, and make Resnics a semiconductor company with global influence. My starting point is building China’s Pensando and Fungible,” said the founder, Mr. Ronnie Huang Yiren.

DPU is the abbreviation of Data Processing Unit, and is currently regarded in the United States as the core for next-generation data centers. Pensando (founded by four senior executives of Cisco Systems with John Chambers as chairman), Fungible (founded by Juniper Networks CTO and co-founder), and NVIDIA currently compete for this market in the US. There are currently no Chinese suppliers, and most Chinese enterprises and Internet companies rely on imports.

Ronnie was the co-founder and CTO of silicon valley based CNEX Labs, which was backed by Dell, Cisco Systems, Microsoft, Seagate, Samsung, Micron and others. He has nearly 30 years of chip design experience, graduated from Shanghai Jiaotong University, and later studied at Michigan Technological University in the US. He was responsible for the architecture and design of network switching chips, SSD controllers, and SmartNICs at Cisco Systems, Sandforce and Huawei. He is the named inventor of 27 US patents, including protocols such as NVMe over Ethernet and Interlaken. For the ICs that Ronnie designed, the total number shipped has exceeded 200 million, and all the chips that Ronnie led the design of have been successful in the first tape-out.

Internet and enterprise data centers are witnessing a major transformation. In the era of AI and 5G, deep learning, Internet of Everything and the end of Moore’s Law are driving the need for heterogeneous computing. Coupled with the demands of virtualization and security, the data center must shift from a CPU-centric architecture to a Composable Disaggregated Infrastructure (CDI) architecture with DPU at the core. In this new architecture, the role of the DPU is to release the computing power consumed by the CPU for performing network switching, data storage, data security and virtualization, and enable a more flexible and secure data center. Resnics Technology will leverage its years of accumulated technical capabilities to create world-class products and become the innovative leader for this new industry.

Oakseed Ventures Mr. Chee We Ng said: “Ronnie is a rare expert in China with nearly 30 years of digital chip design experience. Whether in the field of data center networks or storage, Ronnie is the absolute authority.” Chee We holds a bachelor and masters in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT. His graduate tutor was Anantha Chandrakasan, a global ultra-low-power digital chip expert and the current dean of the MIT School of Engineering. He was a graduate teaching assistant for low-power CMOS VLSI class, then served as the executive director of investments at Cisco Systems. Chee We focuses on early-stage investments in enterprise IT. Nearly half of his investments have achieved 7 to 42 times return within three to five years, with an internal rate of return (IRR) of 72 to 118%.

“Designing an enterprise chip is a non-trivial task, you can’t do it without ten to twenty years of experience. Chips are not software and cannot be iterated quickly. If bugs are discovered after tape-out, it will result in much time and money loss. Network and storage chips are extremely complex, and if the architecture or design is bad, it can easily cause deadlocks. Currently, Chinese government is giving a lot of support to the domestic semiconductor industry, but we have seen many teams with insufficient experience raising a lot of money. The risk is very high. Ronnie’s solid product development and entrepreneurial experience in the past 30 years has addressed my many concerns. We are confident that the team led by Ronnie will not only design reliable chips, but be technologically leading globally,” Chee We added.

Mr. He Zhiqiang, senior vice president of Lenovo Group and president of Lenovo Capital, said, “with the development of AI, 5G, cloud computing and other technologies, data growth is driving the growth of global demand for computing power, spawning new opportunities in the computing ecosystem, and DPU deployment at scale will gradually become the future of the data center. The DPU SmartNIC from Resnics Technology will accelerate the processing efficiency of business data in security, network, storage, AI and HPC, and effectively reduce costs. The founder, Mr. Huang Yiren, is a semiconductor chip industry expert and a leader in the DPU and SmartNIC industry. The core team members have more than 20 years of relevant R&D experience. We expect that in this new computing revolution with DPU at the core, Resnics Technology will bring breakthroughs in new technologies, new applications and new directions. At the same time, Lenovo has been deeply involved in the field of high-performance computing for over 20 years, with a complete product portfolio and rich customer service experience. Lenovo and Resnics will collaborate closely in technology and product development to provide comprehensive high-performance computing solutions and build new enterprise infrastructure to empower intelligent transformation of industries like education, scientific research, smart manufacturing, life sciences, meteorology, oceanography, and petroleum exploration.

Ronnie, Chairman and CEO of Resnics Technology, concludes: “Thank everyone for the strong support to Resnics Technology. We will live up to your expectations to build the company into a global leader in Chinese enterprise chips. In the next few months, we will launch globally leading products and deliver them to customers. I hope that there will be more like-minded corporate partners and investors to take this journey with us to build China’s NVIDIA and Broadcom.”

blank

blankAbout Oakseed Ventures

Oakseed Ventures is one of few early-stage funds that only focuses on enterprise tech. Its investment team comprises of rare technology and investment experts who have invested in enterprise IT for nearly a decade in China. Investment areas encompass SaaS, financial technology, AI, big data, and cloud, to infrastructure software, hardware and chips. Founding partner Chee We Ng holds a Master’s and Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT, an MBA from Harvard Business School, and was responsible for venture investment in China at Cisco Systems. The team’s previous investments include: Kyligence, Zilliz, Shangyong Technology, Oushu and Fastone Technology, and nearly half of its previous investments achieved 72-118% IRR within 3-5 years after the investment, with less than 10% of the cases requiring write-off. Oakseed Venture’s investment philosophy is: patiently identify and invest in entrepreneurs who strive to make a distinctive contribution to enterprise tech, and accelerate growth through our network in enterprise IT, telecom operators and Internet companies.

Scroll to top