中国企业技术独角兽在哪里?

中国企业技术独角兽在哪里?最近,我有幸与Kapil Kane和王向导参加了在2019年上海Slush的"企业科技独角兽在哪里?"的圆桌讨论 

事实上,尽管今年有4家市值超过100亿美元的SaaS公司在美国上市,仅次于阿里云的第二大价值高价值企业技术独角兽Sensetime的市值约为70亿美元,而其他大多数企业技术独角兽的价值不到20亿美元。

中美企业技术市场有什么不同?为什么?

让我们来看看今天的中国企业技术独角兽。大象是阿里云,虽然众人会说"不公平!在公共云的类别中,有腾讯云、金山云和UCloud。第二大类独角兽是AI和大数据。(我将它们组合在一起,因为边界正在模糊,尽管人工智能最近的复兴可以说是因为深度学习)。在这里,我们有三大深度学习巨头,Sensetime,Megvii / Face++ 和 Yitu,还有为政府、金融服务和零售服务的大数据公司,如第四范式和同敦。保安有一个孤独的巨人360企业,其次是市场与猪八戒网,一个工作平台。令人惊讶的是,但也许并不奇怪,物联网,PaaS和SaaS各有少数独角兽,但他们的大小要小得多。 

几个观察明显跳了出来。首先,独角兽的规模要小得多。其次,有几家是阿里云、腾讯云和360企业等大型企业的子公司或分拆。第三,除了阿里云和腾讯云通过服务许多中小型服务达到其规模外,其他大型独角兽,尤其是人脸识别公司,通过为政府和金融机构服务,达到规模。公平地说,除了公共云之外,在基本的 IT 基础架构空间中,几乎没有像安全性这样的独角兽。SaaS 还处于萌芽阶段。 

为什么?

从历史背景来看,与世界上许多地区相比,中国IT支出占GDP的比重很小。在中国生活的人或许有收到带有个人163.cn电邮地址的政府官方名片的经验。另一些人则认同需要在纸上盖章才能成为官方和认可的做法。然而,其他人会告诉你,如果数字甚至不能被信任,为什么折腾数字化,它只会导致更多的混乱和尴尬。 

IT 市场一直受到 RFP/SW/投标、价格竞争和长销售周期的泥潭。会改变吗?

我最近做了一个CIO调查,好消息是,这一切都是和即将改变。CIO 已被要求成为利润中心来推动业务,而不是成本中心。以往他们是 IT 的保管人,而IT更像是公用事业或信息管道。CIO 现在的任务是快速部署小型应用程序,从数据中获取见解,并利用 5G 和 IOT 等新技术来转变业务。 

企业初创公司需要做些什么才能成功?初创企业必须有勇气建立独特的产品,并致力于真正困难的事情。他们必须学会根据价值而不是成本来销售,而后者困住了大部分的ISV和SI市场。

虽然中国企业可能需要一段时间才能信任其数据存储在 SaaS 中,而企业技术初创公司将继续受到相比消费类创业公司进入市场和筹集资金的速度上更慢的挑战,但我希望中国企业科技初创公司会得到他们理应得到的更多关注。中国已经有一些真正世界级的企业科技初创公司,比如Kyligence的团队为中国第一个顶级的阿帕奇项目Kylin做出了贡献,而偶数的团队创建了Apache HAWQ。由于中国的规模和多样性,中国有一些世界上最具挑战性的企业难题,其工程师已经而且将会加紧解决这些问题!

在过去的7年里,完全投资于中国企业技术,让我感到非常兴奋。期待见证中国下一次转型。

滚动到顶部

Where are all the Chinese Enterprise Tech Unicorns?

Where are all the China Enterprise Tech Unicorns? I recently had the pleasure of participating in a “Where are all the Enteprise Tech Unicorns?” panel in Slush Shanghai 2019 together with Kapil Kane and Xiangdao Wang and moderated by Matthieu Bodin. 

Indeed, whereas four SaaS companies with more than $10b went public in the US this year, Sensetime, the second highly valued enterprise tech Unicorn after Alicloud, is roughly $7b while most of the other enterprise tech unicorns are less than $2b in value.

How is the enterprise tech market different between China and US and why?

Let’s look at the enterprise tech unicorns in China today. The big elephant, though one might cry out “not fair!”, is Alicloud, valued at $70b. Together in the category of public clouds are Tencent cloud, Kingsoft cloud and UCloud. The second biggest category of unicorns are in AI and Big Data. (I group them together because the boundaries are blurring though the recent renaissance in AI is arguably due to Deep Learning). Here we have the three deep learning giants, Sensetime, Megvii / Face++ and Yitu, but also big data companies that serve the government, financial services and retail like Fourth Paradigm and Tongdun. Security has a lonely giant 360 Enterprise, followed by market places with Zhubajie, a platform for jobs. Surprisingly but perhaps not surprisingly, Internet of Things, PaaS and SaaS each have a handful of unicorns but they are much smaller in size. 

A few observations jump out. First, the unicorns are much smaller in size. Second, there are several that are subsidiaries or spin-offs from larger corporations like Alicloud, Tencent Cloud and 360 enterprise. Third, other than Alicloud and Tencent Cloud that get to their scale by servicing many small and medium services, other large unicorns, especially the face recognition ones, get to the scale by serving the government and financial institutions. It may be fair to say, there are almost no unicorn that is in the fundamental IT infrastructure space like security, other than public cloud. And SaaS is still very nascent. 

Why?

As a historical context, IT spending as a percentage of GDP has been small in China compared to many parts of the world. Many of us who lived in China have the experience of receiving government official name cards with a personal 163.cn email address on it. Others will identify with the practice of needing a stamp on paper to be official and recognized. Yet others will tell you, if numbers can’t even be trusted, why bother digitizing things, it will only cause more confusion and worse still, embarrassment. 

IT market has been one that is mired by RFPs/SOWs/tenders and price competition and long sales cycles. Will that change?

I recently did a CIO survey and good news is, all of that is and about to change. CIOs are now asked to be profit centers to drive business, not cost centers where they are custodians of IT which is more like utilities or plumbing. CIOs are now tasked with deploying mini-apps in fast order, deriving insights from data and leveraging new technologies like 5G and IOT to transform businesses. 

What do enterprise startups need to do to succeed? Startups must have the courage to build unique offerings and work on the really difficult things. They must learn to sell based on value not cost plus that has trapped most of the ISV and SI market.

While Chinese companies may take a while to trust their data to be stored in a SaaS, and enterprise tech startups will continued to be challenged by the speed they can go to market and raise money compared to their consumer ones, I am hopeful that enterprise tech startups in China will get more attention that they rightfully deserve. Already there are enterprise tech startups in China that are truly world class, such as Kyligence whose team contributed to China’s first top level Apache Project Kylin and Oushu whose team created Apache HAWQ. China has some of the world’s most challenging enterprise problems due to its scale and diversity, and its engineers have and will be stepping up to solve these problems!

Really excited to have been investing solely in enterprise tech in China for the past 7 years. Looking forward to witnessing the next transformation in China.

Scroll to top